Best Books for Youth 2017

This year’s top books for youth were announced today by the American Library Association. Reserve a winner or an honorably mentioned book by stopping by Prescott Public Library, 215 E. Goodwin; utilizing the online catalog via; or by calling the library’s  Youth Desk at 928.777. 1537.

Winners in major categories include:

Newbery Award, for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature

Winner: The Girl Who Drank the Moon, by Kelly Barnhill. Newbery Honor Books include: Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan, written and illustrated by Ashley Bryan;  The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog, written by Adam Gidwitz; and Wolf Hollow, written by Lauren Wolk.

Caldecott Award, for the most distinguished American picture book for children

Winner: Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat, written and illustrated by Javaka Steptoe. Honor books include: Leave Me Alone! illustrated and written by Vera Brosgol;  Freedom in Congo Square, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie and written by Carole Boston Weatherford; Du Iz Tak? illustrated and written by Carson Ellis; and  They All Saw a Cat, illustrated and written by Brendan Wenzel.

Corretta Scott King (Author) Book Award,  recognizing an African-American author of outstanding books for children and young adults:

Winner: March: Book Three, written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin. The graphic novel is illustrated by Nate Powell. Honor Books include: As Brave as You,  by Jason Reynolds; and Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan, written and illustrated by Ashley Bryan

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

Winner: March: Book Three, created by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell, is the 2017 Printz Award winner. Printz Honor Books also include: Asking for It, by Louise O’Neill; The Passion of Dolssa, by Julie Berry; Scythe, by Neal Shusterman; and The Sun Is Also a Star, by Nicola Yoon.

Schneider Family Book Award, for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:

Winner for ages 0 to 10: Six Dots: A Story of Young Louis Braille, by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Boris Kulikov.

Winner for Ages 11-13: As Brave As You, by Jason Reynolds.

Winner for ages 13-18:  When We Collided, by Emery Lord.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Winner is Nikki Grimes, whose award-winning works include Bronx Masquerade, which won the Coretta Scott King Author Award in 2003, and Words with Wings, the recipient of a Coretta Scott King Author Honor in 2014.

Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults:

Winner: Sarah Dessen. Her books include: Dreamland, Keeping the Moon, Just Listen, The Truth about Forever, Along for the Ride, What Happened to Goodbye? and This Lullaby.

Pura Belpré Awards honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

Winner: Juana and Lucas, written and illustrated by Juana Medina.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children.

Winner: March: Book Three, by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin and illustrated by Nate Powell.

Honor books: Giant Squid, by Candace Fleming; Sachiko: A Nagasaki Bomb Survivor’s Story, by Caren Stelson; Uprooted: The Japanese American Experience During World War II,” by Albert Marrin; and We Will Not Be Silent: The White Rose Student Resistance Movement That Defied Adolf Hitler, by Russell Freedman.

Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience:

Winners: Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor, by Rick Riordan, and If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo, are the 2017 recipients of the Stonewall Book Awards – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award, respectively.

Honor Books: When the Moon Was Ours, by Anna-Marie McLemore; Unbecoming, by Jenny Downham; and Pride: Celebrating Diversity & Community, by Robin Stevenson.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book:

Winner: We Are Growing: A Mo Willems’ Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Book, by Laurie Keller.

Honor Books: Good Night Owl, written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli; Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! An Alphabet Caper, written and illustrated by Mike Twohy; Go Otto Go! written and illustrated by David Milgrim; and The Infamous Ratsos,” written by Kara LaReau.